Dr. Archana Kaliyaraj Selva Kumar

Topics of research

– Single entity electrochemistry

– Flow Battery

Educational background

Doctoral degree

PhD in Physical and Theoretical Chemistry

Thesis title: Single entity electrochemistry at carbon nanotubes;

Supervisor: Prof. Richard G Compton;

Place: University of Oxford, Oxford, United Kingdom

Master’s degree

Masters in chemistry at CHRIST University, Bengaluru, India

Masters Thesis: Tailoring the electronic and magnetic properties of transition metal complexes with Nitrogen based ligands

Supervisors; Prof. Maheshwaran Shanmugam

Place: IIT-Bombay, India; Prof, Anitha Varghese, CHRIST Bengaluru, India.

 Bachelor’s degree

Bachelors in Chemistry at Bishop Heber College, Trichy, India

Professional career

Project Fellow – May 2018 to August 2019 at CSIR- Central Electrochemical Research Institute, Karaikudi, India

Awards & Accomplishments


Commonwealth Scholarships for PhD at University of Oxford

January 2019:

Best Oral Presentation Award, International Symposium on Advances in Electrochemical Science and Technology, India

May 2015 – July 2015:

Indian Academy of Sciences Summer Research Fellowship Program, India



 – A. Kaliyaraj Selva Kumar, Y. Lu, R.G. Compton, The Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters 202213, 8699.

– Y. Lu, X. Li, A. Kaliyaraj Selva Kumar, R.G. Compton, ACS Catalysis 202212, 8740.

– A. Kaliyaraj Selva Kumar, R.G. Compton, The Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters 202213, 5557.

– A. Kaliyaraj Selva Kumar, R.G. Compton, ACS Catalysis 202212, 4754.


 – Y. Wang, A.K.S. Kumar, R.G. Compton, Chemelectrochem 20218, 2343.

– A. Kaliyaraj Selva Kumar, R. Miao, D. Li, R.G. Compton, Chemical Science 202112, 10878.



– A. K. S. Kumar, Y. Zhang, D. Li, R. G. Compton, Electrochemistry Communications, 2020, 121, 106867.

– Y. Zhang, A.K. Selva Kumar, D. Li, M. Yang, R.G. Compton, Chemelectrochem 20207, 4614.

– H. Chen, A. Kaliyaraj Selva Kumar, H. Le, R.G. Compton, Journal of Electroanalytical Chemistry 2020876, 114730.

– K. S. Archana, S. Suresh, P. Ragupathy, M. Ulaganathan, Electrochimica Acta, 2020, 345, 136245.

– K. S. Archana, R. p. Naresh, H. Enale, V. Rajendran, A M Vinu Mohan, A. Bhaskar, P Ragupathy, D. Dixon, Journal of Energy Storage, 2020, 29, 101462,


 – R. Pandiyan Naresh, K. Mariyappan, K. Selvakumar Archana, S. Suresh, D. Ditty, M. Ulaganathan, P. Ragupathy,  Chemelectrochem, 20196, 5688.

– N. Venkatesan, K.S. Archana, S. Suresh, R. Aswathy, M. Ulaganthan, P. Periasamy, P. Ragupathy, Chemelectrochem 20196, 1107.