SBS-3 Program

Start of symposium: Monday, Sept 26, 09:00 (Registration 08:00 – 09:00)
End of symposium: Tuesday, Sept 27, 16:00 

Talks: There will be 20 invited talks (invited speakers only). More information can be found below! 

Poster session: There will be a poster session on Sept 26 along with BBQ and drinks (included in the registration fee).
If you want to present a poster, please contact the conference chair philipp.adelhelm(at)

Optional site visit: After the conference, a guided tour to the Berlin synchrotron facility (BESSY-2) will be offered.

Electrodes & Electrolytes for Na-ion batteries

Christian Masquelier is Professor of Chemistry at LRCS Laboratory in Université de Picardie Jules Verne, France. He has been working for ~30 years on the crystal solid electrolytes and positive electrode materials for Li-ion and Na-ion batteries, in particular on operando X-ray or neutron diffraction of phosphate-containing positive electrodes. He is the co-author of ~170 publications and 15 international patents in this field. He is presently co-Director of the ALISTORE European Research Institute and head of MESC+ “Materials for Energy Storage and Conversion”, an ERASMUS MUNDUS European Joint Master Degree. Since 2020, he is the Coordinator of the European Marie Curie PhD-COFUND project DESTINY which trains 50 PhD students in Europe on advanced batteries

Ivana Hasa is Assistant Professor of Electrochemical Materials in WMG at the University of Warwick (UK).  Over the last ten years she gained broad experience in electrochemical energy storage systems during her appointments at Sapienza University of Rome (Italy), the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (California, USA) and at the Helmholtz Institute Ulm (Germany). Her research activities are directed towards the understanding of the processes governing sodium-ion batteries and the development and scale up of new battery chemistries from concept to full proven cell prototypes.

Jürgen Janek is professor for physical chemistry at Justus-Liebig-University in Gießen/Germany, director of the Center for Materials Research and scientific director of the BELLA laboratory at KIT/Germany. He coordinates the German BMBF cluster of competence for solid state batteries and is member of the excellence cluster “Post-Lithium Storage” (POLIS) at Karlsruhe/Ulm. He is member of the Leopoldina and holds an honorary doctorate at TU Delft for his work in energy storage. His is an expert in electrochemistry and Solid state ionics. His main research interests are electrode phenomena, transport in solid electrolytes and mixed conductors as well as solid state reactions. His battery activities include research on lithium ion batteries as well as post-lithium cells and solid-state batteries. One of his long-term interest is the kinetics of parent metal electrodes on solid electrolytes.

Magda Titirici is a Prof. of Sustainable Energy Materials in the Department of Chemical Engineering at Imperial College London and a RAEng Chair in Emerging Technologies. Her research is on developing sustainable materials for energy storage and conversion technologies including battery chemistries beyond Li-ion as well as single and dual atom sites electrocatalysts for different reactions such as Oxygen Reduction Reaction or Biomass Electrooxidation. She serves as the president elect of the Materials Chemistry Division within the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Matteo Bianchini obtained his Ph.D. in France (2015) with Prof. Masquelier (LRCS, Amiens), Dr. Croguennec (ICMCB, Bordeaux), and Dr. Suard (ILL, Grenoble) for operando diffraction studies on battery electrode materials. He was then a postdoctoral fellow in the group of Prof. Ceder (LBNL, Berkeley) and at the Battery and Electrochemistry Laboratory BELLA (KIT, Karlsruhe), under the supervision of Prof. Janek and Dr. Brezesinski. He later joined BASF and was lab team leader for BELLA, where the team focused on Ni-rich cathode active materials and solid-state batteries. From 09/2021, Matteo is full professor at the University of Bayreuth. He holds the chair of Inorganic Active Materials for Electrochemical Energy Storage and is associated with the Bavarian Center for Battery Technology BayBatt. His group investigates electrode materials for Li-ion and Na-ion batteries, solid-state electrolytes, and develops methods for in situ structural characterization.